Pattern Review 2016 Wardrobe Contest

In January I started eyeing Pattern Review’s 2016 Wardrobe Contest. The basic idea is to sew a capsule wardrobe of 10 pieces which can all be worn together. I loved the idea from first read, but didn’t seriously think about participating. Ten garments in two months isn’t such a stretch for me, but at the time I didn’t need any new clothes, much less 10 new pieces; and since I don’t have a stash I didn’t think I could afford that much new material in such a short time.

Then it started sneaking up on me: in the first week of February I sewed a dress, one lone little dress:

28

Then I needed a cardigan to match it:

31

I’d been planning to sew some brown corduroys for a while, and they would match the cardigan:

11

I found some lovely black sweater knit and made two toppers from it:

8

26

And then I had to balance all that black with some more bright color:

17

In the meantime, I bought this little remnant and made this pleated skirt:

IMG_3948

And then suddenly since I had half a wardrobe already, I figured I might as well enter the contest. Plus, around the same time I got some generous late-birthday gifts, including a gift certificate to my favorite fabric store, and figured I might as well spend the money on something I wouldn’t do otherwise.

I finally got around to making up a plan on polyvore.com, using RTW items similar to mine. The picture of the plan made me so happy that I set it as the background on my computer, and every day I could see my plan and think about what I had finished, and what I had to do.

plan and mine

The last few pieces of the wardrobe were a button-down shirt:

IMG_3989

A maxi skirt (this was the only stash piece I used; I bought it for a shirt for Tomi but it’s polyester):

IMG_4013

And a waterfall top with an open back:

img_3930 s

IMG_3933s

Despite thinking that I would never be able to sew 10 items in 2 months, I actually finished most of the sewing in February. By March I only had to finish the wine top, and do some hemming and finish some buttons. In early March I had a fun afternoon taking pictures of all the outfits, and then there was a lot of photo editing and pasting to make a collage of all the outfits:

mosaic

I think by the end of the photo shoot I had gotten a bit silly, and there were some pretty funny outtakes:

IMG_4034

IMG_4043

And when I realized I had missed one or two combinations, I had fun photoshopping them together:

magic!

Overall, I REALLY enjoyed this project. There were one or two moments where I felt like I was sliding towards not doing my best work, just sewing to be finished and take the pictures and be done. But those moments were minimal, and I ended up with 10 (well, maybe 9) comfortable and wearable new garments, and who wouldn’t be excited with that?

If you’re a Pattern Review member, you can check out my entry in the contest here, and between April 3rd and April 9th you’ll be able to vote for your favorite here.

 

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pattern Review 2016 Wardrobe Contest

  1. LOL congratulations on finishing!
    You’re photoshoot and photoshop put a smile on my face 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pants | Hungarian Housekeeping

  3. Pingback: 2016 in Review: Top 5 Hits and Misses | Hungarian Housekeeping

Talk to me!

