Sleeveless Garden Party Dress

In my previous post about making honigdesign’s Garden Party Dress, I mentioned that I might want to try making a sleeveless version. Well, it didn’t take very long, and I think I like this one even more than the first:

IMG_0435

yay, sleeveless

back

back

inside

inside

I made the same adjustments as I mentioned making in the first version (lengthening the skirt, adding pockets, fully lining the bodice and skirt). I also changed the neckline and re-sloped the shoulders a bit. The most major change was to alter the one biggish bust dart to be two smaller darts. This was mostly guesswork on my part and frankly I was amazed that it turned out as well as it did.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wore the dress today to school and got many a compliment from my kind colleagues.

It was chilly today, so sweater and scarf

It was chilly today, so sweater and scarf

plus my favorite blue shoes!

plus my favorite blue shoes!

someday it will be warm enough for sleeveless again

someday it will be warm enough for sleeveless again

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sleeveless Garden Party Dress

  1. Pingback: Evolution of a dress | Hungarian Housekeeping

Talk to me!

