Koli quilt

This is a quilt I made for a colleague of mine. Actually, I made it for her niece, who is graduating from 8th grade and will be going to boarding school next year – not uncommon in Hungary where smaller villages don’t always have good high schools nearby. She’ll be living in a kollégium (dormitory), I started thinking of it as the kollégium quilt, or koli quilt.

koli quilt

In many ways it was a very easy project. They had found a picture online of what they wanted, and bought some great fabrics, so it was an easy reconstruction. Here is the original picture, and a link to the page it’s from:

Cutting and piecing were easy… squares, right?

koli quilt

koli quilt

koli quilt

The hardest part was making the layout random enough and not having any similar squares next to each other.

koli quilt

koli quilt

And then I laid the whole thing out, layered it with the batting (super thick) and the backing (fleece!) that they had given me.

koli quilt

Crossed my fingers and started quilting…

Nope, it was lumpy. It was super lumpy. So out came a few lines of quilting…

koli quilt

…in went a lot a lot a lot of safety pins…

koli quilt

and I started quilting again. Did I mention that we were having a heat wave? I was wrestling this thick, fleecy, poofy monster under my needle in the middle of a heat wave.

Anyway, long hot story short, the finished result was very soft and cuddly, with only the tiniest of puckers on the back. There aren’t even pictures of them, so you can just appreciate the fluffy front once more:

koli quilt

koli quilt

And in the end, it is soft and warm and will keep a little girl snug while she is away from home. So, success (and I never want to see red fleece in my life again.)

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

