New summer bag: the lobster bag

new bag May 2014

Summertime means new bag time, of course. Of course, there was lots of inspiration to be found on Pinterest:

I knew I wanted to make some sort of regular sized purse that would unzip into a huge (huge-r?) bag for shopping trips. I made some doodles:

new bag May 2014

And made a paper mock-up of that one part:

new bag May 2014

And assembled materials. The zippers are new, the atrocious skirt and (shudder) harem pants are from the second-hand store. I felt I was doing a super good deed, putting both of them out of their misery:

new bag May 2014

And finally last Saturday I got around to sewing. I had thought about making this post a tutorial, but I made up a lot as I went along. So instead, you get a series of pictures. If you know something about bag-making, probably you can figure it out from the pictures (or I can help). If you don’t know about bag-making, I don’t recommend this as a starting project! I consider myself a pretty advanced sewer in general, and this project took me most of the day.

So, less blathering, more pictures. Starting with my high-tech measuring system (magazine) and corner curve maker (tape):

new bag May 2014

new bag May 2014

new bag May 2014

new bag May 2014

new bag May 2014

new bag May 2014

new bag May 2014

The finished bag again:

new bag May 2014

The finished bag, expanded, and stuffed with two giant couch cushions:

new bag May 2014

The interior has two zippered pockets on either side and an open pocket in the middle:

new bag May 2014

The expanded bag is a little more “gather-y” than I wanted (I miscounted the amount of fabric I needed) but I don’t have to look at it very often. Overall, I’m pleasantly shocked by how well this project turned out.

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New summer bag: the lobster bag

  1. Jen says:

    cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool.

Talk to me!

