Copycat clutch

Do you ever find a blog that you like, read through all the archives, forget about it, and then rediscover it? That happened to me recently with Smashed Peas and Carrots. I love, love refinding a great blog – it’s almost better than finding it the first time, because not only do you get to read all the new content, there’s all the old content to rebrowse.

So as I was catching up on posts I’d missed, I came across her fantastic Date Night Ring Handled Clutch tutorial. It’s not often that I see a bag that I want to make for myself, but this one caught my eye right away. Must make! Look how cute her version is:

But that second picture stopped me in my tracks, at least briefly: I’m no good with open bags. I am clumsy. Things fall out.  So I knew I had to add a zipper to make this bag work for me. And turns out, it wasn’t so hard! Here’s how I did it:

First, I drafted a pattern for the bag. Mine is a different shape from hers – my corners are boxed so the bag is thicker. I did this to accommodate my fat wallet (if only it were fat with money…) The outside is all one piece, which is basically the same as hers – you just sew up the sides, and in my case box the corners, and the outside of the bag is done. The inside lining is where the changes happened. The zipper unit is a separate part of the bag. Imagine a shallow box, set just inside the lip of the bag. And because of this extra box, the tabs on the lining (the parts that are going to fold over to hold the handles) have to be separate pieces joined later. And then after you’ve assembled this modified lining, you put the whole bag together as she shows.

Clear as mud? Okay, here’s some pictures instead (click for bigger versions):

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Copycat clutch

  1. Maggie says:

    Absolutely lovely!! I love the addition of the zipper!!! Thank you so much for sharing this with me!!! Happy day to you!
    XOXO,
    Maggie

  2. Adorable clutch!! So cute and easy to carry! Thanks for linking up to Give Me The Goods Monday! Can’t wait to see what you bring next week! Jenna @ Rain on a Tin Roof

  3. Marisa says:

    SO cute adding this to my list of things I want to sew!!!

Talk to me!

